Teams selected for first, second round of Women’s Basketball NCAA Championship

March 18, 2014 | Athletics, Events, News
By Brian DeBenedictis

The NCAA has revealed its bracket for the 2014 Women’s Basketball Championship and Notre Dame, Vanderbilt, Arizona State and Robert Morris will be coming to Savage Arena.

NCAA tickets for webThe No. 8 seed Commodores (18-12) and No. 9 seed Sun Devils (22-9) will square off in the first round of the South Bend Region Saturday, March 22, at 11 a.m. on ESPN2, followed by the No. 1 seed Fighting Irish (32-0) and No. 16 seed Colonials (21-11) at 1:30 p.m. on ESPN.

The winners of those two matchups will then compete for a spot in the Sweet 16 Monday, March 24, at 6:30 p.m.

All three games will be broadcast on the ESPN Family of Networks with Beth Mowins providing the play-by-play and former UT women’s basketball assistant coach Stephanie White serving as the analyst.

Undefeated Notre Dame captured both the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) regular season and tournament championships in the program’s inaugural season in the conference, posting a 19-0 record against league foes to become the first non-charter member ever to run the table in league play. By winning the ACC crown, second-ranked Notre Dame earned the conference’s automatic berth into the 2014 NCAA Championship under Head Coach Muffet McGraw.

A member of the Southeastern Conference (SEC), Vanderbilt received an at-large bid to the tournament and has won at least one postseason game in 10 of the past 11 seasons. The Commodores have made 15 straight appearances in the Big Dance, including 12 straight since the arrival of Head Coach Melanie Balcomb in 2002.

A member of the Pacific 12 Conference (Pac-12), Arizona State received an at-large bid to the tourney and will make its ninth appearance in the Big Dance under Head Coach Charli Turner Thorne. Picked to finish ninth (media) and 10th (coaches) in the Pac-12’s preseason polls, the Sun Devils surpassed the expectations of most and finished fourth in the league.

A member of the Northeast Conference (NEC), Robert Morris earned the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Championship for the first time since 2008 after winning its tourney title under Head Coach Sal Buscaglia.

All-session tickets or single-session tickets for the tournament may be purchased at the UT Athletic Ticket Office, online at or by calling 419.530.GOLD (4653). Located in the Sullivan Athletic Complex at Savage Arena, the ticket office is open from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. during the week.

Click to access the login or register cheese