Shapiro Essay Revision Contest winners named

March 27, 2015 | UToday, — Languages, Literature and Social Sciences
By Kevin Bucher

On its 26th anniversary, the 2015 Shapiro Essay Revision Contest had the largest number of participants ever with 174 students competing for 15 prizes.

Students from almost every academic major took part in the writing contest on campus, which was sponsored by the Department of English Language and Literature and the Composition Program.

“We were very excited with the number of students that participated in the contest this year; 174 is the largest turnout we have ever had,” said Dr. Deborah Coulter-Harris, associate lecturer of English and the contest director.

Winners of this year’s contest were:

• Andrea Tsatalis, sophomore biology major, $500;

• Ashley Teow, junior biology major, $400;

• Elissa L. Vaitleus, sophomore sociology/women and gender studies major, $300;

• Jessica Mysyk, sophomore political science/economics major, $200; and

• Christina Palmiero, sophomore speech language pathology major, $100.

Taking home $75 prizes were:

• Erin Bruggemann, freshman education major;

• Ryan K. Beagle, freshman mechanical engineering major;

• Anthony Coustillac, freshman mechanical engineering major;

• Austin D. Mills, sophomore political science major;

• Matthew D. Goldmann, freshman computer science and engineering major;

• Andrea A. Ferrao, freshman economics major;

• Lindsay M. Mahaney, junior communication major;

• Jana L. Choberka, freshman biology major;

• Jordan A. Budrevich, freshman bioengineering major; and

• Dingzhong Hu, senior psychology major.

The Shapiro Writing Contest is named for and supported by funds established by the late Dr. Edward Shapiro, professor emeritus of economics, who retired from The University of Toledo in 1989 after 22 years of service. An undergraduate of UT, he went on to obtain a master of arts degree from Ohio State University and a doctoral degree from Harvard.

Click to access the login or register cheese