Nominations sought for Multicultural Student Leadership Awards

April 10, 2013 | UToday
By Danny Zenn

UT celebrates its multicultural identity, and one way it’s recognized will be at the seventh annual Multicultural Student Leadership Awards ceremony Wednesday, April 24.

Presented by the Office of Multicultural Student Success, these awards celebrate students who make the largest impact on diversity, inclusiveness and individuality on campus as UT strives to respect and value personal uniqueness and differences; to attract and retain diverse faculty, staff and students; to challenge stereotypes; and to promote sensitivity and inclusion.

Do you know a student who exemplifies these qualities? Click here to nominate him or her for a chance to win an award.

There are six awards from which to choose:

• Emerging Leader Award (wins $50 UT Bookstore gift card);

• Advocate Award ($50 UT Bookstore gift card);

• Community Spotlight Award ($50 UT Bookstore gift card);

• Defying the Odds Award ($50 UT Bookstore gift card);

• Excel Award ($50 UT Bookstore gift card); and

• Distinguished Multicultural Student Leader Award ($100 UT Bookstore gift card).

Click here to read more about the awards.

Fatima Pervaiz, program coordinator in the Office of Multicultural Student Services, touched on the significance of the awards: “The Multicultural Student Leadership Awards are annual awards through the Division of Student Affairs that highlight the talents and accomplishments of our diverse student population at The University of Toledo.

“While it is essential that we honor and celebrate all of our students, it is particularly important that we recognize the accomplishments of our multicultural students since they are often underrepresented in higher education settings,” she said. “As a result, we hope that community members will nominate a deserving student or students.”

The deadline for nominations is Wednesday, April 17, at 5 p.m.

Nominations and forms should be sent to: Office of Excellence and Multicultural Student Success, Student Union Room 2500, Mail Stop 109, or fax to 419.530.4638.

The award ceremony will take place Wednesday, April 24, from noon to 2 p.m. in Student Union Room 2582.

Click to access the login or register cheese