College of Pharmacy commencement to take place May 4

April 30, 2013 | Events, UToday, Alumni, Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
By Charisse Montgomery

The College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences will hold its spring commencement Saturday, May 4, at 2 p.m. in Savage Arena.

The college will award 104 doctor of pharmacy degrees, 15 master’s degrees and 164 baccalaureate degrees.

Among the 164 baccalaureate degree recipients, a majority will graduate with honors. Seventeen will graduate summa cum laude, 53 will graduate magna cum laude, and 51 will graduate cum laude.

The University of Toledo will confer two honorary degrees at the pharmacy commencement.

Dr. Suzanne Epstein will receive the honorary doctor of humane letters degree. She is the associate director for research for the Office of Cellular, Tissue and Gene Therapies in the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research at the Food and Drug Administration. She also is the principal investigator and regulatory reviewer for the Gene Transfer and Immunogenicity Branch of the Division of Cellular and Gene Therapies. Epstein is a leader among researchers seeking to develop a universal influenza vaccine that reduces the population’s vulnerability to a flu pandemic.

Dr. Paul Abramowitz will receive the honorary doctor of science degree. He is the chief executive officer of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, an organization dedicated to supporting the professional practice of pharmacists in hospitals, health systems, ambulatory care clinics and other settings spanning the full spectrum of medication use. Abramowitz earned a bachelor of science degree in pharmacy from The University of Toledo in 1977.

Click to access the login or register cheese