Flu shots available for UT community members | UToledo News

Categories

Archives

Resources

Categories

Archives

Resources

Flu shots available for UT community members

The seasonal flu shot program is under way as UT Medical Center employees involved with patient care are receiving inoculation. Vaccine will be provided on Main Campus starting at Welloween Friday, Oct. 26.

Walk-in clinics will start Monday, Oct. 22, and run through Thursday, Nov. 15.

Annual vaccination against seasonal influenza is recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention for adults to reduce risks of becoming ill with influenza or transmitting the virus to others.

“Inoculation is very important for students because of virus exposure in confined spaces such as classrooms and residence halls,” said Dr. Susan Batten, associate professor of nursing.

The flu shots are free for UT employees and students with their IDs.

Clinics will take place:

• Monday, Oct. 22 — Collier Building Lobby from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

• Tuesday, Oct. 23 — Health Education Building Lobby from 8 a.m. to noon.

• Thursday, Oct. 25 — Health Science Building Lobby from 8 a.m. to noon.

• Friday, Oct. 26 — Student Recreation Center during Welloween from 11 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

• Tuesday, Oct. 30 — UT Medical Center Gift Shop Hall from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. and from 5 to 7 p.m.

• Wednesday, Oct. 31 — Health Education Building Lobby from 8 a.m. to noon.

• Thursday, Nov. 1 — UT Medical Center Gift Shop Hall from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. and from 5 to 7 p.m.

• Tuesday, Nov. 6 — Stranahan Hall Lobby from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

• Wednesday, Nov. 7 — Law Center Room 1039 from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

• Thursday, Nov. 8 — Rocket Hall Lobby from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

• Tuesday, Nov. 13 — Health and Human Services Building Lobby from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

• Thursday, Nov. 15 — Memorial Field House Center Court from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

“We have had a good response so far with more than 9,000 doses given,” Batten said. “I hope interest continues. It certainly beats the $30 out-of-pocket expense.”

Comments are closed.