Football player named semifinalist for Wuerffel Trophy

November 19, 2015 | Athletics, News
By Paul Helgren

Senior tight end Alex Zmolik is one of eight national semifinalists for the 2015 Wuerffel Trophy.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as college football’s premier award for community service, is presented annually by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach, Fla.

Named after Danny Wuerffel, the 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback from the University of Florida, the award is given to the Football Bowl Subdivision player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.



Zmolik is a three-year starter for the Rockets. He has five receptions for 48 yards this season. He had 16 receptions in 2014, including a career-best six catches in Toledo’s 63-44 victory in the GoDaddy Bowl.

Zmolik, who earned Academic All-MAC honors in 2014, is a marketing major with a 3.40 grade point average. He is the Rockets’ team leader for Fellowship of Christian Athletes and Athletes in Action activities. He also volunteers at the Boys & Girls Club of Toledo a few times each month.

During this past spring break, Zmolik traveled to Nicaragua, where he volunteered for a mission trip, one of numerous such trips he has made in his lifetime.

He is also a nominee for the All State Good Works Team.

The other 2015 Wuerffel Trophy semifinalists, listed alphabetically by university: Spencer Drango, Baylor University, senior, offensive line
; Ross Martin, Duke University, senior, kicker; Nate Sudfeld, Indiana University, senior, quarterback; 
Landon Foster, University of Kentucky, senior, punter; 
Garrett Adcock, University of New Mexico, junior, offensive line
; Corey Robinson, University of Notre Dame, junior, wide receiver; and Ty Darlington, University of Oklahoma, senior, offensive line

Voting for the Wuerffel Trophy is performed by a National Selection Committee that includes college football television and print media, industry notables, former head coaches and prior Wuerffel Trophy recipients.

Three finalists will be announced Tuesday, Nov. 24, and the formal announcement of the 2015 Wuerffel Trophy recipient will be made Tuesday, Dec. 8, at the National Football Foundation’s press conference in New York City. The presentation of the trophy will take place at the 47th Annual All Sports Association Awards Banquet Feb. 12 in Fort Walton Beach.

Click to access the login or register cheese