University recognizes faculty for tenure and promotion

November 29, 2017 | Events, News, UToday
By Christine Wasserman

During what has become an annual tradition brought to the University by President Sharon L. Gaber, 53 faculty members were honored in a special tenure and promotion celebration Oct. 30 in Carlson Library.

Each honoree was asked to select a book that was instrumental to his or her success, and these books are now housed in the library — each marked with a bookplate commemorating the honoree’s milestone.

President Sharon L. Gaber and Provost Andrew Hsu, center standing, posed for a photo with some of the faculty members who attended the tenure and promotion celebration last month in Carlson Library.

“We’re extremely proud of each of these individuals,” Gaber said. “This tribute helps to build a culture of excellence for our faculty and staff — one of our strategic priorities. They deserve our praise, and we certainly wish them continued success with all of their academic, clinical and research endeavors here at UT.”

“Scholarly activities are fundamental to raising UT’s academic excellence and our national reputation,” noted Provost Andrew Hsu. “The achievements of these faculty members and researchers are critically important to us, as well as to the success of our students.”

Faculty members who achieved promotion to professor are: Dr. An Chung Cheng, Holly Hey, Dr. Kamala London Newton and Dr. Joni Mihura, College of Arts and Letters; Dr. Debra Johanning, Judith Herb College of Education; Dr. Defne Apul, Dr. Cyndee Gruden, Dr. Dong-Shik Kim, Dr. Matthew Liberatore and Dr. Azadeh Parvin, College of Engineering; Gregory Gilchrist, College of Law (for academic year 2017-18); Dr. Hossein Elgafy, Dr. Michael Ellis, Dr. Daniel Rapport and Dr. William Suarez, College of Medicine and Life Sciences; Dr. Thomas Bridgeman, Dr. Deborah Chadee, Dr. Song-Tao Liu, Dr. John-David Smith, William Taylor and Dr. Jianglong Zhu, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics; and Dr. Youssef Sari, College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

Individuals appointed to professor with tenure are: Dr. R. William Ayres and Charlene Gilbert, College of Arts and Letters; Beau Case, University Libraries; Dr. Linda Lewandowski, College of Nursing; and Dr. T. Michael Toole, College of Engineering. 

Faculty who received tenure and promotion to associate professor are: Dr. Ammon Allred, Dr. Denise Bernardini, Dr. Jetsabe Caceres, Dr. Olman Piedra, Dr. Pamela Stover, Tad Weed and Barry Whittaker, College of Arts and Letters; Dr. Mark Gleim and Dr. Alex Petkevich, College of Business and Innovation; Dr. Liangbo Hu, College of Engineering; Dr. Jennifer Reynolds, College of Health and Human Services; Dr. Jason Huntley, College of Medicine and Life Sciences; and Dr. Song Qian and Dr. Akaki Tikaradze, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics.

Faculty promoted to associate professor are: Agnieszka McPeak, College of Law; and Dr. Mark Bonnell, Dr. Kathryn Eisenmann, Dr. Ehab Eltahawy, Dr. George Moukarbel, Dr. Joseph Sferra and Dr. Elizabeth Wroblewski, College of Medicine and Life Sciences.

Those recognized for earning tenure are: Dr. Matthew Tull, College of Arts and Letters; Elizabeth McCuskey and Evan Zoldan, College of Law (both for academic year 2017-18); and Dr. Annie (Tsui Sui) Kao, College of Nursing.

Dr. Mary Jean Ohns, College of Nursing, was promoted to assistant professor.

Click to access the login or register cheese