Faculty create award-winning pharmacology textbook

December 28, 2010 | News, UToday
By Samantha Pixler

pharm-book-coverPharmacology professors at The University of Toledo decided their students needed an updated textbook that taught both the basic science and fundamentals of pharmacology.

And that textbook they developed, Pharmacology, Principles and Practice, has received a prestigious award.

The text, which was created by several UT professors along with others from across the country, was deemed “highly commended” by the British Medical Association 2010 Medical Books Awards. The awards competition has recognized excellence in medical publishing since 1996.

The editors and co-authors of the textbook are UT’s Dr. Miles Hacker, professor of pharmacology, Dr. William Messer, professor and chair of pharmacology, and Dr. Kenneth Bachmann, professor emeritus of pharmacology.

“When I went to graduate school, they had a great pharmacology textbook, but the students I teach today didn’t have the materials that I used to have,” Hacker said. “My colleagues and I felt that the students and the field of pharmacology needed an updated textbook to teach them the fundamentals.”

Other UT co-authors of the textbook include Dr. Kenneth Alexander, professor of pharmacy practice; Dr. Jeffrey Sarver, research associate in medicinal and biological chemistry; Dr. Paul Erhardt, professor of medicinal and biological chemistry; and Dr. William Taylor, associate professor of biological sciences.

Click to access the login or register cheese