Shapiro Essay Revision Contest winners announced

March 16, 2012 | News, UToday
By Paul Webb

The judge’s scores have been tallied, and the winners have been chosen for this year’s Shapiro Essay Revision Contest.

The contest saw a large increase in participants, with hundreds of students competing in the 2012 event to revise a poorly written essay.

The student winners are:

• Neil Duris, sophomore humanities major, $500;

• Zachary Dehm, junior philosophy/religious studies major, $400;

• Abigail Parsons, senior nursing major, $300;

• Megan Roberts, freshman education major, $200;

• Patrick Cook, senior creative writing major, $100;

• Tracy Altherr, sophomore computer science major, $75;

• Devin Brown, sophomore nursing major, $75;

• Zachary Dietrich, junior mathematics major, $75;

• Refal Dylkowski, senior communications major, $75;

• Brittany Konz, freshman biology major, $75;

• Ciara Metzoian, freshman psychology major, $75;

• Abdulrahman Mustapha, junior creative writing major, $75;

• Kim Pham, freshman speech-language pathology major, $75;

• Emily Potter, junior environmental science major, $75; and

• Zoe Young, junior English/art major, $75.

“The contest was very competitive. Our judges had a difficult time choosing only 15 winners,” said Dr. Deborah Coulter-Harris, director of the contest and associate lecturer in the Department of English. “We would like to congratulate our winners and thank all of our participants. We also would like to thank our wonderful faculty in the English Department for serving as judges and monitors. Everyone did a great job, and we are looking forward to next year’s competition.”

Click to access the login or register cheese