Vaccinations available to prevent spread of influenza | UToledo News

Categories

Archives

Resources

Categories

Archives

Resources

Vaccinations available to prevent spread of influenza

The University of Toledo community has an opportunity to combat cold and flu season by getting an influenza vaccination this fall.

Walk-in clinics are available on Main and Health Science campuses during October and early November to provide vaccinations.

UTMC 957 flu shot 11x17The vaccine is quadrivalent, containing weakened influenza virus of A/California/07/2009(H1N1), A/Texas/50/2012(H3N2), B/Massachusetts/02.2012 (B Yamagata lineage) and B/Brisbane/60/2008 (B Victoria lineage), according to Dr. Susan Batten, UT associate professor of nursing.

“It’s important to protect students, staff and faculty as much as possible from getting the influenza viruses,” Batten said. “Getting the flu causes aches and fever, and costs money out of pocket for over-the-counter drugs that only help with symptom management. When health-care providers, UT staff and faculty miss work, it creates replacement expenses for the University. And the student misses important classes and tests.”

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, influenza infects thousands of people nationwide each year; annual vaccination against seasonal influenza is recommended for adults to reduce the risk of becoming ill or transmitting the virus to others.

UTMC employees involved with patient care are required to get the vaccination or wear a yellow surgical mask for the duration of influenza season as a precaution to prevent illness from spreading. However, the vaccination is also free and available to all UT employees and students with valid IDs.

Clinics are available:

• Monday, Oct. 13 — Dowling Hall from 8 to 11 a.m. and Glendale Medical Center from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.

• Tuesday, Oct. 14 — Records Retention Center from noon to 2 p.m.

• Wednesday, Oct. 15 — UT Medical Center third floor from 7 a.m. to noon.

• Thursday, Oct. 16 — UTMC second floor from 7 a.m. to noon.

• Friday, Oct. 17 — Facilities Support Building from 8 to 11 a.m.

• Monday, Oct. 20 — Ruppert Health Center from 8 to 11 a.m.

• Tuesday, Oct. 21 — UTMC first floor from 7 a.m. to noon.
• Wednesday, Oct. 22 — UTMC ground level from 7 a.m. to noon.

• Thursday, Oct. 23 — Mulford Library from 7 a.m. to noon.

• Friday, Oct. 24 — Dowling Hall from 8 to 11 a.m.

• Monday, Oct. 27 — Eleanor N. Dana Cancer Center from 8 to 11 a.m. and Glendale Medical Center from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.

• Tuesday, Oct. 28 — Health Education Building front lobby from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.

• Wednesday, Oct. 29 — Collier Building front lobby from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

• Thursday, Oct. 30 — Collier Building front lobby from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.

• Friday, Oct. 31 — Student Recreation Center from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

• Monday, Nov. 3 — Dowling Hall Room 2253 from 9 to 11 a.m. and UTMC sixth floor from 7 to 10 a.m.

• Tuesday, Nov. 4 — UTMC fifth floor from 7 to 10 a.m. and Stranahan Hall lobby from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.

• Wednesday, Nov. 5 — UTMC fourth floor from 7 to 10 a.m., Memorial Field House from 8 a.m. to noon and the Law Center from 1 to 5 p.m.

• Thursday, Nov. 6 — UTMC Four Seasons Bistro atrium from 7 to 10 a.m. and from 7 to 10 p.m., and Health Science and Human Service Building lobby from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.

• Friday, Nov. 7 — UTMC third floor from 7 to 10 a.m. and Ruppert Center from 8 to 11 a.m.

• Monday, Nov. 10 — UTMC second floor from 7 to 10 a.m. and Dowling Hall Room 2315 from 2 to 4 p.m.

• Wednesday, Nov. 12 — UTMC Four Seasons Bistro atrium from 7 to 10 a.m. and from 7 to 10 p.m., and Rocket Hall lobby from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

• Thursday, Nov. 13 — Family Medicine Clinic from 7:30 to 8:30 a.m., UTMC ground floor from 7 to 10 a.m. and Student Union from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

• Friday, Nov. 14 — UTMC first floor from 7 to 10 a.m. and Eleanor N. Dana Cancer Center from 8 to 11 a.m.

• Monday, Nov. 17 — Dowling Hall from 8 to 11 a.m.

• Tuesday, Nov. 18 — Health Education Building front lobby from 8 to 11 a.m.

• Wednesday, Nov. 19 — Collier Building front lobby from 8 to 11 a.m.

• Thursday, Nov. 20 — Mulford Library from 8 to 11 a.m.

• Friday, Nov. 21 — UTMC sixth floor from 7 to 11 a.m.

• Monday, Nov. 24 — UTMC fifth floor from 7 to 11 a.m.

• Tuesday, Nov. 25 — UTMC fourth floor from 7 to 11 a.m.

• Wednesday, Nov. 26 — UTMC second floor from 7 to 11 a.m.

In addition to getting vaccinated, Batten recommends washing your hands frequently, avoiding large crowds and individuals with viral infections, sneezing into your elbow if you don’t have a tissue, and keeping your hands away from your face.

Comments are closed.