10 football players named All-MAC; Matt Campbell voted MAC Coach of the Year

December 2, 2015 | Athletics, News
By Paul Helgren

Ten players from The University of Toledo were named to the 2015 All-Mid-American Conference football team, and Matt Campbell was chosen as the MAC Coach of the Year.

Campbell, who resigned from his post at UT Sunday to accept the head coaching job at Iowa State, led Toledo to a 9-2 record this past season. The Rockets were ranked in the Top 25 for six weeks this season, moving to as high as No. 19 in the AP poll Oct. 18.

Rocket football logoFour Rockets made first-team All-MAC. They were junior punt returner Corey Jones, senior defensive lineman Orion Jones, junior offensive lineman Storm Norton and senior cornerback Cheatham Norrils.

Four Rockets made second-team All-MAC, while two made the third team.

Earning second-team honors were senior defensive lineman Allen Covington, junior running back Kareem Hunt, senior wide receiver Alonzo Russell and sophomore running back Terry Swanson.

Senior defensive lineman Trent Voss and junior safety DeJuan Rogers made third-team All-MAC.

Click to access the login or register cheese