UT Medical Center neurologist wins Stroke Innovation Award

December 21, 2009 | Research, UToday
By Staff

Dr. Gretchen Tietjen, professor and chair of neurology, has received the Stroke Innovation Award by the internationally acclaimed journal Stroke for her original investigation published in its September 2009 issue in an article titled “Migraine and Biomarkers of Endothelial Activation in Young Women.”

The investigation explored the relationship between migraine and stroke, and was conducted in UT’s Department of Neurology. The work was funded by her UT Translational Research Stimulation Award and by a research grant from GlaxoSmithKline.

“’Innovation’ is defined broadly; it can be a new approach, a new methodology, new interpretation of existing data or new data with far-reaching implications,” wrote Dr. Vladimir Hachinski, editor-in-chief of Stroke, in a letter to Tietjen informing her she had won.

“I am very honored and surprised to receive this award, as migraine-related research is often not recognized and valued within the stroke scientific community,” Tietjen said. “I am very appreciative of The University of Toledo and GlaxoSmithKline for supporting my research.”

This annual award was established by the journal in 2008 and is to be given during the Stroke symposium at the International Stroke Conference of the American Heart Association in San Antonio Feb. 25.

In 2008, Tietjen’s translational work was awarded the Seymour Solomon Research Lecture Award at the 50th annual scientific meeting of the American Headache Society in Boston.

This year Tietjen has authored or co-authored 12 original research articles and reviews in prestigious scientific journals.

Click to access the login or register cheese