UT chancellor selected to lead Liaison Committee on Medical Education

June 14, 2011 | News, UToday
By Meghan Cunningham



Dr. Jeffrey P. Gold, chancellor, UT executive vice president for biosciences and health affairs, and dean of the College of Medicine and Life Sciences, will serve as co-chair of the Liaison Committee on Medical Education, which is responsible for accrediting all U.S. and Canadian medical schools.

The committee is jointly sponsored by the Association of American Medical Colleges and the American Medical Association. The 17 members of the committee are medical educators and administrators, practicing physicians, public members and medical students.

Each year the committee reviews annual survey data and written reports on all accredited medical schools and conducts site visits to 20 to 30 institutions. There are 135 Liaison Committee on Medical Education-accredited MD programs in the United States and 17 in Canada accredited by the committee in collaboration with the Committee on Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools.

“It is an incredible honor for The University of Toledo. This is solid recognition of the quality of our university and the medical education programs that we have,” Gold said. “I am honored to serve for the Liaison Committee on Medical Education as we continue to ensure that the quality of medical education in the U.S. is the highest quality in the world. We serve the changing needs of our teachers, learners and all of society.”

Gold co-chairs the committee with Dr. Valerie Parisi, dean of the Wayne State University School of Medicine. Gold is the American Medical Association chair, and Parisi serves as the Association of American Medical Colleges chair.

“I am delighted to work with Dr. Gold in this capacity on the Liaison Committee on Medical Education,” Parisi said. “He is a tireless worker and a champion for students. He has an innovative approach to problem solving and a deep commitment to medical education. We have been friends and colleagues since we attended the Association of American Medical Colleges Dean Executive Leadership Program in 2004, and I look forward to partnering with him in his new and very important capacity with the Liaison Committee on Medical Education.”

Click to access the login or register cheese