Rockets Win MAC Institutional Academic Award With 3.277 GPA

August 26, 2019 | Athletics, News, Alumni
By Paul Helgren

The University of Toledo has been named the recipient of the 2018-19 Mid-American Conference Institutional Academic Achievement Award, the conference office announced Aug. 26. For the past academic year, UToledo’s student-athletes posted a school-record grade point average of 3.277.

It is the second consecutive year the Rockets have won the award, and the sixth time in the past eight years.

The MAC Institutional Academic Achievement Award is presented annually to the conference institution that achieves the highest overall GPA for student-athletes competing in school-sponsored sports for the academic year.

“We put tremendous emphasis on academic excellence at The University of Toledo, so it is very gratifying to know that our student-athletes are being recognized for their superior achievement in the classroom,” UToledo Vice President and Athletic Director Mike O’Brien said. “This is the second year in a row we set the school-record for our department grade-point average, and the sixth time in the past eight years we have won the MAC Institutional Achievement Award. That consistency speaks to the determined efforts of our student-athletes, as well as the outstanding support they receive from the parents, coaches, classroom instructors and Student Athlete Academic Services staff members.”

“The Student-Athlete Academic Support Services staff is excited to break another academic record and continue the academic success of our student-athletes,” Ericka Lavender, associate athletic director for academics, added. “We are extremely proud of our student-athletes, coaches, faculty and staff. Without their support, we would not be able to achieve and maintain the academic success at UToledo.”

A year ago, Toledo won the MAC Academic Achievement Award with a 3.266 GPA, a school record at the time. The Rockets also set a then-school record while winning the award in 2015-16 (3.235 GPA). The other academic years that Toledo won the award were 2014-15 (3.213 GPA), 2012-13 (3.200) and 2011-12 (3.171).

MAC Institutional Academic Achievement Award
2018-19 – University of Toledo
2017-18 – University of Toledo

2016-17 – Western Michigan University
2015-16 – University of Toledo
2014-15 – University of Toledo

2013-14 – Miami University
2012-13 – University of Toledo
2011-12 – University of Toledo

2010-11 – University of Akron
2009-10 – Bowling Green State University
2008-09 – Ball State University
2007-08 – Northern Illinois University
2006-07 – Central Michigan University
2005-06 – Central Michigan University
2004-05 – Central Michigan University
2003-04 – Central Michigan University
2002-03 – Central Michigan University
2001-02 – Central Michigan University
2000-01 – Bowling Green State University
1999-00 – Central Michigan University
1998-99 – Central Michigan University
1997-98 – Central Michigan University
1996-97 – Ball State University / Central Michigan University (tie)
1995-96 – Bowling Green State University
1994-95 – Bowling Green State University

Click to access the login or register cheese