Rocket named MAC Special Teams Player of the Year; six make All-MAC

December 2, 2010 | News, UToday
By Paul Helgren



Sophomore Eric Page was named Mid-American Conference Special Teams Player of the Year and earned two first-team All-MAC honors, the conference office announced yesterday.

Page made first-team All-MAC at both wide receiver and kickoff returner. He was the only Rocket to earn first team honors. The All-MAC teams are selected by the league’s coaches, while the specialty awards are picked by the media.

Toledo’s other All-MAC selections were junior running back Adonis Thomas and senior linebacker Archie Donald on second team, and junior outside lineman Mike VanDerMeulen, sophomore linebacker Dan Molls and sophomore defensive end T.J. Fatinikun on third team.

Page is tied for second in the MAC and fifth in nation with 94 receptions this season. He is fourth in the MAC and 17th in the country with 1,081 receiving yards. He leads the MAC and is fourth in the country in kickoff return average (31.8). He is the only player in the Football Bowl Subdivision this season with three TDs on kickoff returns.

Thomas is second in the MAC in rushing yards (905) and led all running backs in yards per carry (6.0). He also caught 29 passes out of the backfield. VanDerMeulen was a key part of an offense that ranks fourth in total offense (359.5 yards/game) and rushing yards (156.0).

Donald is tied for the league lead in tackles with 134. He is seeking to become the first Rocket in history to lead his team in tackles for three consecutive seasons. Molls is right behind Donald with 133 tackles, which ranks third in the MAC, and is second on the team with 9.5 tackles for loss. Both Donald and Molls have three interceptions this season.

Fatinikun leads UT with 12.0 tackles for loss, is second in sacks (5.0), and is tied for second in the MAC with four forced fumbles.

Click to access the login or register cheese