Kicker named MAC Special Teams Player of the Year

December 4, 2013 | News, UToday
By Paul Helgren

Junior place-kicker Jeremiah Detmer was named Mid-American Conference Special Teams Player of the Year in a vote by the media that was announced by the MAC today.



The league office also announced that 11 Rockets made All-MAC, the second most in the conference behind Ball State (15).

Detmer was one of four Rockets to make first-team All-MAC. Joining him were running back David Fluellen, linebacker Junior Sylvestre and defensive end Jayrone Elliott.

Second-team All-MAC picks were senior center Zac Kerin, wide receiver Bernard Reedy and junior offensive lineman Greg Mancz.

Making third-team All-MAC were freshman defensive tackle Treyvon Hester, junior offensive lineman Jeff Myers, senior quarterback Terrance Owens and sophomore wide receiver Alonzo Russell.

Detmer had an amazingly consistent season, connecting on 19 of 20 field goals and 44 of 45 extra points. He made his final 13 field goals of the season and was successful on 36 of his last 37 attempts over the past two seasons. Of his 76 kickoffs, 38 went for touchbacks.

Sylvestre is second in the MAC with 118 tackles and added 9.5 tackles for loss and five sacks. Elliott is second in the league with 14 sacks to go with his 70 tackles.

Fluellen was leading the MAC in rushing for much of the season before being sidelined with injuries. He has 1,121 yards rushing and leads all running backs with 6.7 yards per carry.

Kerin, Mancz and Myers led an offensive line that ranks first in the country in fewest sacks allowed (5).

Reedy ranks seventh in the MAC with 62 receptions, while Russell is 10th with 59.

Hester is the only UT freshman to make All-MAC. He has 39 tackles and 7.5 tackles for loss.

Owens, a starter at quarterback for much of his four years at UT, has completed 60.1 percent of his passes for 2,230 yards and 18 touchdowns.

Click to access the login or register cheese