Two swimmers to represent UT at NCAA Championships

March 14, 2012 | News, UToday
By Brad Pettiford

Two seniors on the Mid-American Conference Champion Toledo swimming and diving team will compete in the NCAA Championship meet Thursday through Saturday, March 15-17, at Auburn University, Auburn, Ala.

Claire Leichty and Laura Lindsay both qualified to swim in two races against the nation’s best. Leichty will compete in the 500 freestyle and 1650 freestyle, while Lindsay will swim in the 100 breaststroke and 200 breaststroke.

The two swimmers took individual titles in each of their respective events at the MAC Championships held at the University of Akron’s Ocasek Natatorium in late February, and both were named first-team All-MAC.

Leichty placed first in the 500 freestyle in a time of 4:44.62, setting a pool record and missing the conference record by just 39 seconds. She also won the 1650 freestyle — her second-straight year winning the event — in 16:11.80, a new MAC Championship meet record. This is her first time qualifying for the national meet.

Qualifying for the second year in a row, Lindsay is wrapping up a season in which she won every single 100 breaststroke and 200 breaststroke race she swam in. She won the 100 breaststroke in a time of 1:00.15, but also recorded an impressive mark of 59.95 in the prelims, setting a new pool record, on top of a MAC record and championship meet record. Lindsay’s winning time of 2:09.79 in the 200 breaststroke also established a new pool record, MAC record and championship meet record.

Lindsay made UT swimming history in 2011: She was the first Rocket swimmer to qualify for an event final at the NCAA Swimming Championships. She finished 12th (1:00.33) in the preliminary heats of the 100 breaststroke to qualify for the B Final, where she placed 15th (1:00.95).

Leichty will compete in the 500 freestyle prelims Thursday, March 15, and 1650 freestyle Saturday, March 17.

Lindsay will race in the prelims for the 100 breaststroke Friday, March 16, and the 200 breaststroke Saturday, March 17.

A detailed championship schedule, as well as post-race results, can be accessed here.

For links to watch prelim and finals, click here.

Click to access the login or register cheese