Trustees hear arguments for, against smoking ban; faculty promotions recommended

March 20, 2014 | News, UToday, — Communication and the Arts, — Languages, Literature and Social Sciences, — Social Justice and Human Service, Business and Innovation, Engineering, Honors, Judith Herb College of Education, Law, Natural Sciences and Mathematics
By Meghan Cunningham

Members of The University of Toledo Board of Trustees heard input from faculty, staff and students both for and against a proposed smoking ban on Main Campus.

Volunteers spoke during the board’s Academic and Student Affairs Committee meeting March 11, and the full Board of Trustees is expected to discuss the ban further at its April 14 meeting.

Speaking for the ban were student Mike Peachock, faculty member Dr. Tavis Glassman and staff member Marcus Dawson. Against the ban were student Matt Purdue and faculty member Dr. Mark Templin, with no staff member volunteering to speak against the proposed ban.

“This is something that is very important to the board, but before we make a decision on this, we want to hear from the various constituencies,” said Trustee Susan Palmer, who chairs the committee.

Proponents for a smoking ban cited concerns about second-hand smoke and a desire for an environment free of carcinogens. There also was discussion about the “smoking huts,” where tobacco use may be attracting unruly behavior.

Those against the smoking ban expressed concerns about how it would be enforced and the burden it would put on smokers who live in on-campus residence halls and perhaps putting their safety at risk to go off campus to smoke.

The committee also approved recommendations for 22 faculty members to receive tenure and promotion and another 10 for promotion, which will be sent on to the full board for approval.

Faculty members recommended for tenure and promotion from assistant to associate professor are:

College of Business and Innovation
Dr. Stephen Callaway, Management
Dr. Sachin Modi, Information Operations and Technology Management
Dr. Stanford Westjohn, Marketing and International Business

Judith Herb College of Education
Dr. Florian Feucht, Educational Foundations and Leadership
Dr. Dawn Sandt, Early Childhood, Physical and Special Education

College of Engineering
Dr. Rashmi Jha, Engineering and Computer Science
Dr. Yakov Lapitsky, Chemical Engineering
Dr. Weiqing Sun, Engineering Technology

College of Languages, Literature and Social Sciences
Dr. Jason Rose, Psychology
Dr. Jami Taylor, Political Science and Public Administration

College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Dr. Allesandro Arsie, Mathematics and Statistics
Dr. Richard Becker, Environmental Sciences
Dr. Guofa Liu, Biological Sciences
Dr. Dragan Isailovic, Chemistry
Dr. Sonmez Sahutoglu, Mathematics and Statistics
Dr. Jianglong Zhu, Chemistry

College of Social Justice and Human Service
Dr. Janet Hoy, Criminal Justice, Social Work and Legal Specialties
Dr. Christopher Roseman, School Psychology, Higher Education and Counselor Education
Jesup Scott Honors College
Dr. Barbara Mann

University Libraries

Laura Kinner
Julia Martin
Christine Rigda

Faculty recommended for promotion to professor are:

College of Business and Innovation
Dr. Hassan HassabElnaby, Accounting

College of Communication and the Arts
Barbara Miner, Art

Judith Herb College of Education

Dr. Lynne Hamer, Educational Foundations and Leadership

College of Engineering
Dr. A.H. Jayatissa, Mechanical, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering
Dr. Patricia Relue, Bioengineering

College of Languages, Literature and Social Sciences
Dr. Christina Fitzgerald, English Language and Literature
Dr. Andrew Mattison, English Language and Literature

College of Law

Jelani Exum

College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Dr. Cora Lind-Kovacs, Chemistry
Dr. Christine Mayer, Environmental Sciences

Click to access the login or register cheese