Pacemaker Awards to honor financial/civic leader, outstanding UT business students

April 15, 2010 | Events, UToday
By Bob Mackowiak

The University of Toledo College of Business Administration and the Business Engagement and Leadership Council will present the 48th Annual Pacemaker Awards Friday, April 16, at 6:15 p.m. at the Inverness Country Club.



Each year the prestigious Pacemaker Award recognizes an individual for outstanding achievement in business as well as contributions to the community and the University. The 2010 recipient of the Business Pacemaker Award is Robert C. Savage.

Co-founder of Savage & Associates, Savage obtained his bachelor’s degree in finance from The University of Toledo College of Business Administration and opened an insurance agency with his brother, John, in 1959. He has received numerous industry awards, including the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Ohio Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors.

Savage’s extensive community contributions equal his professional achievements. He was elected to Toledo City Council, becoming vice mayor when he was 29 years old; was co-founder and co-chair for COSI Toledo; served on several nonprofit boards, including 11 years on the UT Board of Trustees; and served on the boards of many businesses, including three listed on the New York Stock Exchange.

“Bob Savage is being recognized for his highly successful business career, unparalleled community involvement, and outstanding leadership in the developmental efforts for the college’s newly opened $15.4 million facility expansion, the Savage & Associates Complex for Business Learning and Engagement,” said Dr. Thomas G. Gutteridge, dean of the UT College of Business Administration.

The Pacemaker Awards also are presented to UT College of Business Administration graduate and undergraduate students for their outstanding academic achievement as well as University and community service.

The 2010 student Pacemakers are:

• Doctoral student — David Dobrzykowski;

• EMBA — Paul Nungester;

• MSA — Kathleen Despoth;

• MBA — Derreck Shaw; and

• Undergraduates — Joseph A. James and Megan Reese, accounting; Jenna Koch and Kristin Blotzer, finance; Samuel Wierwille and Leslie Flory, information operations technology management; Amanda Cohen and Mark Sendi, management; Kevin Smyth and Heidi Schollmeier, marketing and international business; and Anna Hollingsworth, Dean’s Office.

Click to access the login or register cheese