University Women’s Commission pays tribute to employees, students

May 3, 2012 | News, UToday
By Vicki L. Kroll

Three UT employees were honored last week for their exceptional contributions to the campus community at the 26th annual Outstanding Women’s Award ceremony.

The University Women’s Commission sponsored the program, which was held in the Savage Arena Joe Grogan Room Tuesday.

This year, the awards were renamed to honor Dr. Alice Skeens, longtime UT faculty member and administrator, who championed women’s issues.

Showing off their Dr. Alice Skeens Outstanding Woman Awards were, from left, Dr. Lynne Hamer, Kelly Andrews and Dr. Barbara Kopp Miller.

Receiving the Dr. Alice Skeens Outstanding Woman Award were Kelly Andrews, senior associate athletics director/senior woman administrator in Intercollegiate Athletics; Dr. Lynne Hamer, associate professor of foundations of education in the Judith Herb College of Education, Health Science and Human Service; and Dr. Barbara Kopp Miller, professor and associate dean for research and quality in the Judith Herb College of Education, Health Science and Human Service, and administrative director of the Center for Successful Aging.

Andrews, a former collegiate student-athlete, oversees 11 sports at UT. She joined the staff in 2002 and has been chair of the University Women’s Commission since 2007.

“As chair of the University of Women’s Commission, Kelly has remained dedicated, enthusiastic and motivated to do more with less. Under her leadership, the commission has provided the greatest number of scholarships possible,” one nominator wrote. “It’s never an easy thing to do — nominating someone who is already a leader — but it is the right thing to do. Kelly has earned my respect and admiration.”

“I’m honored to be recognized with this award, and it was quite a nice surprise from the University Women’s Commission Board,” Andrews said. “The commission has recognized so many women at UT through the years, and I’m so pleased to be included with that group.”

Hamer became a member of the education faculty in 1994 after receiving her PhD from Indiana University and relocating to Toledo to work in urban education and with first-generation college students. In 1999, she received UT’s Outstanding Teacher Award and in 2011, the Judith Herb College of Education, Health Science and Human Service’s Service Award for her engagement with the community via the Padua Alliance for Education and Empowerment.

“Dr. Hamer has served as a role model to other female professors as well as female graduate and undergraduate students who aspire to the profession,” one nominator wrote. “She is a model academic and is part of a relatively new set of academic women who has coped with the demands of being a full-time parent and professional. She actively integrates issues of gender into the numerous foundations courses that she teaches and is an enthusiastic proponent of women’s rights.”

“As a scholar and teacher of social foundations of education, I know that anything any of us accomplishes is because of our social context — the people we are blessed to work with and who choose to work with us,” Hamer said. “I’m honored to have colleagues and graduate students from the Department of Educational Foundations and Leadership, collaborators from the community, and students from the UT@TPS Program here today. Without them, I couldn’t do anything outstanding.”

Receiving University Women’s Commission scholarships were Jeanetta Mohlke-Hill, left, and Jessica Meyer.

Kopp Miller joined the University as a graduate assistant in 1991 and has worked her way up to professor and associate dean. She received the MCO Dean’s Award for Teaching Excellence in 1999, the 20 Under 40 Award for Community Service and Leadership in 2003, and a Jefferson Award for Public Service in 2009.

“Barb has made exceptional contributions and achievements, is highly involved in the UT community as well as the northwest Ohio community, has a positive attitude toward responsibilities, and is active in her support of women’s issues,” one nominator wrote. “She has advised 68 occupational therapy students’ scholarly projects since 1994. She presents at local and state conferences as well as national and international conferences. Barb shares her expertise on aging, grief and bereavement during speaking engagements throughout northwest Ohio.”

“It’s an honor to receive this award from the University Women’s Commission,” Kopp Miller said. “The commission and its work are central to the University’s mission of enhancing the quality of life for women faculty, staff and students.”

The University Women’s Commission also presented $1,000 scholarships to two students. Receiving awards based on academic achievement, support of women’s and gender issues, and campus and community involvement were Jeanetta Mohlke-Hill, a junior majoring in women’s and gender studies, and Jessica Meyer, a junior majoring in exercise science.

Click to access the login or register cheese