UToledo Dean Elected Chair of Statewide Medical School Alliance

July 15, 2020 | News, UToday, Medicine and Life Sciences
By Tyrel Linkhorn

Dr. Christopher Cooper, dean of The University of Toledo College of Medicine and Life Sciences, has been selected as the chair of the Ohio Council of Medical School Deans.

The group is an alliance of Ohio’s seven medical colleges — UToledo along with Case Western Reserve University, University of Cincinnati, Northeast Ohio Medical University, Ohio State University, Ohio University and Wright State University.

Christopher Cooper


The council works to improve health outcomes across the state by emphasizing innovation in education and patient care, as well as improving access to quality healthcare for Ohio’s underserved populations.

Dr. Andrew Filak Jr., dean of the University of Cincinnati School of Medicine, will serve alongside Cooper as vice chair.

“Dr. Filak and I look forward to ongoing collaboration with our colleagues around the state as we continue to operate at the forefront of research and innovation, shaping the next generation of medical professionals and ensuring access to quality healthcare for all Ohioans,” Cooper, executive vice president for clinical affairs and vice provost for educational health affairs, said.

Cooper has a one-year term, running through June 2021.

Click to access the login or register cheese