Wide receiver among 40 to watch for Walter Camp Player of Year Award

July 19, 2011 | News, UToday
By Steve Easton



Toledo junior wide receiver Eric Page is among 40 players to watch for the 2011 Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, the Walter Camp Football Foundation announced yesterday.

The award is the nation’s fourth-oldest individual college football accolade with Northern Illinois senior quarterback Chandler Harnish also representing the Mid-American Conference.

Page was a first-team All-America selection at the kickoff return position by Walter Camp and the Sporting News in 2010. He ranked fourth in the nation last season in kickoff returns (31.8 average) and was the only player in the Football Bowl Series to have returned three kickoffs for touchdowns last year. As a receiver, Page tied for fifth in the nation with 94 receptions and ranked 18th in the country with 1,081 receiving yards. He was named the MAC’s Special Teams Player of the Year and made First-Team All-MAC as both a kickoff returner and wide receiver.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in mid-November. The 2011 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 120 NCAA Bowl subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN SportsCenter Thursday, Dec. 8. The winner will receive his trophy at the foundation’s annual national awards banquet Jan. 14 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Camp, regarded as the “father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. The former Yale University athlete and football coach also is credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries, and the restriction of play to 11 men per side.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation — a New Haven-based all-volunteer group — was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of annually selecting an All-America team.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association, which was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The association encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of its candidates and recipients.

Click to access the login or register cheese