New UT Physicians leadership named

August 11, 2011 | News, UToday
By Staff



A new interim executive director and officers have been named to lead The University of Toledo Physicians LLC into 2013.

Bryan Pyles was appointed interim executive director as of July 25. He succeeds Dr. Lee Woldenberg, professor and chair of the Department of Radiology, who had served as interim executive director and president.

Pyles will continue his duties as associate vice president for finance and strategic planning, as well.

As interim executive director of UT Physicians, Pyles will implement the vision and direction provided by physician leadership to align the group’s core business functions with the mission and goals of physicians within The University of Toledo College of Medicine and Life Sciences.

“Mr. Pyles and the new UT Physicians officers will surely work well together to expand and enhance faculty practice programs and services,” said Dr. Jeffrey P. Gold, chancellor, executive vice president for biosciences and health affairs, and dean of the College of Medicine and Life Sciences. “His deep understanding of the UT community will markedly facilitate his transition and help to break down barriers of communication among the health-care delivery silos of our university. We warmly welcome him in this new role.”

A new UT Physicians leadership team also has been elected to guide the organization into 2013. Officers include:

• President: Dr. Joseph Shapiro, professor and chair of the Department of Medicine;

• Vice president: Dr. Kristopher Brickman, associate professor and chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine;

• Secretary: Dr. Gerald Zelenock, professor and chair of the Department of Surgery; and

• Treasurer: Dr. Haitham Elsamaloty, professor in the Department of Radiology.

Their two-year terms began July 1.

Click to access the login or register cheese