2010 Diamante Award Winners Announced for Sept. 10 Celebration at UT

August 30, 2010 | Events, UToday
By Jon Strunk

webdiamante-awards-logo-for-vickiNorthwest Ohio’s Latino community will celebrate the 21st annual Diamante Awards Friday, Sept. 10, at 6 p.m. in the Toledo Hilton Ballroom on The University of Toledo’s Health Science Campus.

Those interested in attending and helping contribute to the program’s scholarship funds may purchase seats by Thursday, Sept. 2, by contacting the UT Office of Special Events at 419.530.2200 or specialevents@utoledo.edu.

Those purchasing seats in advance can buy them for $75 per person or $125 for two. Students with a valid ID can purchase seats for $25 in advance. At the door, seats will cost $85 per person or $150 for two. Student seats at the door will be $30 with a valid ID.

Honored with Diamante Awards this year will be:

Corporate/Community Agency – ProMedica Health System

From conducting health fairs in the migrant communities of Fremont, Fostoria, Risingsun and Bettsville, Ohio, to sponsoring the Cesar Chavez Awards, the Sofia Quintero Scholarship and the Diamante Awards and helping local Latino organizations throughout the region, ProMedica is a strong presence in the Latino community.

Friend of the Latino Community — State Sen. Teresa Fedor

A University of Toledo alumna, Fedor is serving her second term in the Ohio Senate representing the 11th Senate District. Fedor has been recognized for her work as a legislator by many organizations and most recently was named “Legislative Advocate” by the Ohio Commission of Hispanic/Latino Affairs for her commitment to Latino issues.

Latino/Latina Adult Leadership — Elaina Hernandez

Hernandez is a 24-year veteran of Mexican Folkloric Dance. She has studied under Carlos Vega of Mexico, Rene Cardoza of Chicago, Samuel Cortez of Chicago and Placido Lopez Guerrero of Mexico. Hernandez has been directing and choreographing for nearly 20 years; in 1996, she founded El Corazon de Mexico, The Heart of Mexico, which teaches the history and culture of Mexico through folkloric dance, promoting leadership skills, education and self-awareness to all members.

Youth Leadership — Lauryn Vargas

Vargas is a student at Bowling Green State University and is a cabinet member of the Latino Student Union (LSU) and helps plan many events. As an LSU member, Vargas has become part of the student recruitment committee to show Latino students around campus and encourage them to attend BGSU. She is also involved in off-campus activities, including attending meetings and conferences for the Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, shadowing Lucas County Auditor Anita Lopez, attending the 2010 Hispanic Leadership Conference in Lorain, Ohio, and organizing students for the 2011 Cesar Chavez blood drive.

Latino Adult Professional — Dr. Ruben P. Viramontez Anguiano

Viramontez Anguiano is associate professor of human development, family studies and early childhood education in the School of Family and Consumer Sciences, which is part of the College of Education and Human Development at Bowling Green State University. He is a certified family life educator and has served as an advocate for Latino families for 15 years. He serves on the Board of Directors of Adelante Inc., the Latino Resource Center in Toledo, and the Children’s Resource Center in Bowling Green. Viramontez Anguiano has worked for many years with the Perrysburg Heights Community Association and the Ohio Migrant Education Center.

In addition to the award winners, 2010 scholarship recipients have been named:

UT Diamante Image Latino Scholarship
• Jocelyn Cruz
• Ilario Estrada
• Cristina Cortez

BGSU Diamante Foundation Scholarship
• Michelle Bologna
• Joel Guzman
• Jadelynn Maldonado
• Cassandra Rodriguez
• Jessica Phelps
• Maria Santiago
• Joshua Velazquez

Lourdes General Diamante Scholarship
• Trina Craft
• Mallory Guerrero

Owens Community College Foundation Diamante Latino Scholarship
• Tabitha Mixon

PNC Bank Diamante Scholarship
• Elisea O’Donnell, Lourdes College
• Lindsey Farias, Owens Community College
• Maria Cristina Galindo, UT

Owens Corning Diamante Latino Scholarship
• Jennifer Pioch, Lourdes College
• Belinda King, Owens Community College
• Emanuel Marrero, UT

Spanish American Organization Scholarship
• Maite Barrios, Owens Community College
• Tabitha Mixon, Owens Community College

Since the program’s inception, more than 100 individuals and organizations have received Diamante scholarships and awards for their achievements and contributions. Winners are chosen based on recognition of exemplary leadership and achievements within the Latino community or community at large; demonstrated excellence in their fields; dedication and commitment in an ethical and inclusive fashion; and modeling qualities and behaviors of a mentor for youth and the community.

The annual Diamante Awards comprises BGSU, Lourdes College, Owens Community College and UT and was originally founded by the Northwest Ohio Latino advocacy organization IMAGE.

For more information, contact the UT Office of Special Events at 419.530.2200 or specialevents@utoledo.edu.

Click to access the login or register cheese