UT quarterback named semifinalist for Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

October 12, 2017 | Athletics, News
By Paul Helgren

Toledo senior quarterback Logan Woodside is one of 20 student-athletes who were named semifinalists for the 2017 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.

The award honors the top quarterback from all divisions for his accomplishments both on and off the field. Woodside is the only quarterback from the Mid-American Conference to make the list.


Woodside leads the Mid-American Conference in passing yards (327.0 per game) and passing efficiency (163.4) for the 4-1 Rockets this season. Last year, he shattered nearly every Toledo passing record in the books. He led the nation with 45 touchdown passes, 16 more than the previous best in Rocket history. He connected on 69.1 percent of his passes for 4,129 yards, an average of more than 317 yards per contest and another school record. He graduated with a 3.4 grade point average in marketing last December and is working on his master’s degree.

Woodside is also a candidate for the Maxwell Award, which is given to the nation’s player of the year; the Davey O’Brien Award, which honors the nation’s top quarterback; and the Manning Award, another honor given to the nation’s top quarterback following the bowl season.

The 30th anniversary presentation of the Golden Arm Award will be held Friday, Dec. 8, at the Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor & Grand. The award is named for Unitas, an 18-year veteran of the NFL who played his collegiate career at the University of Louisville before joining the Baltimore Colts in 1958.

2017 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Semifinalists
J. T. Barrett, Ohio State
David Blough, Purdue
Jesse Ertz, Kansas State
Luke Falk, Washington State
Riley Ferguson, Memphis
Ryan Finley, NC State
Nick Fitzgerald, Mississippi St.
Quinton Flowers, South Flowers
Justice Hansen, Arkansas St.
Kenny Hill, TCU
Stephen Johnson, Kentucky
Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma
Trace McSorley, Penn St.
Josh Rosen, UCLA
Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State
Brandon Silvers, Troy
Nick Stevens, Colorado St.
Clayton Thorson, Northwestern
Mike White, Western Ky.
Logan Woodside, Toledo

Standout winners of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award include Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); Carson Palmer (USC, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009); Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011); Marcus Mariota (Oregon, 2014); Connor Cook (Michigan State, 2015); and Deshaun Watson (Clemson, 2016).

Click to access the login or register cheese