Accreditation teams named

October 13, 2009 | News, UToday
By Jon Strunk

The University of Toledo is finalizing the membership of the five criterion teams that will provide leadership as UT begins a required two-year self-study in preparation for its 2012 accreditation visit from the North Central Association.

Additionally, Dr. John Taylor, vice president at the North Central Association and a site visitor, will be on campus Wednesday and Thursday, Oct. 14 and 15, to meet with criterion team members and University leadership, and provide guidance for the hard work ahead.

Criterion teams will work to gather information and resources over the next two years on the topics of:

• Mission and integrity;

• Preparing for the future;

• Student learning and effective teaching;

• Acquisition, discovery and application of knowledge; and

• Engagement and service.

Team membership can be viewed here, and student team members still are being identified for inclusion on the committees.

Additionally, President Lloyd Jacobs will deliver a video message regarding the importance of UT’s self-study and 2012 accreditation visit on the myUT site Tuesday, Oct. 13.

Dr. Thomas Sharkey, associate professor of marketing and international business, and Dr. Dorothea Sawicki, professor of medical microbiology and immunology, are co-chairs of the accreditation steering committee, which will guide and coordinate the University’s preparation.

Accreditation occurs about once a decade and serves as an external validation of the strength and excellence of UT’s academic programs, faculty and staff, community engagement, financial strength and numerous other areas of focus.

Click to access the login or register cheese