UT quarterback named finalist for NCAA Senior Class Award

November 8, 2017 | Athletics, News
By Paul Helgren

Toledo senior quarterback Logan Woodside was named one of 10 national finalists for the NCAA Senior Class Award Nov. 8.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.


Woodside’s teammate, Cody Thompson, also was a nominee for the award. Toledo was one of only two teams in the country to have two nominees for the award.

Woodside, who graduated last spring with a 3.42 GPA in marketing and is pursuing his master’s degree in recreation administration, threw for 361 yards last Thursday to lead Toledo (8-1, 5-0 MAC) to a 27-17 win over Northern Illinois. Woodside completed 23 of 31 passes on his way to setting the Toledo record for career passing yards and ended the contest with 9,288 career passing yards, 62 more than previous record-holder Bruce Gradkowski (9,225 from 2002 to 2005).

Woodside is also a finalist for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, which honors the top quarterback from all divisions for accomplishments both on and off the field; the Maxwell Award, which is given to the nation’s player of the year; the Davey O’Brien Award, which honors the nation’s top quarterback; and the Manning Award, another honor given to the nation’s top quarterback following the bowl season.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 30 candidates announced in October. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through Monday, Dec. 4.

Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January.

For more information on all the finalists, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.

NCAA Senior Class Award National Semifinalists
J.T. Barrett, Ohio State
Daniel Carlson, Auburn
Shaquem Griffin, UCF
Josey Jewell, Iowa
Micah Kiser, Virginia
Billy Price, Ohio State
Frank Ragnow, Arkansas
JK Scott, Alabama
Johnny Townsend, Florida
Logan Woodside, Toledo

Click to access the login or register cheese