UT has two finalists for Football Scoop Coach of the Year awards

December 16, 2016 | Athletics, News
By Paul Helgren

University of Toledo Assistant Coaches Brian Wright and Derek Sage are finalists for Football Scoop Coach of the Year awards at their respective positions.



Wright, who is in his first season as Toledo’s offensive coordinator/quarterbacks coach, is one of seven national finalists for Quarterbacks Coach of the Year.

Sage, in his third season with the Rockets, is one of five finalists for Wide Receivers Coach of the Year.

Winners will be revealed throughout the month and will receive their awards at the American Football Coaches Association Convention in Nashville in January.

Toledo (9-3, 6-2 Mid-American Conference) featured one of the most explosive offenses in the country this season. The Rockets ended the regular season averaging 38.8 points and 529.8 yards per game, the fifth highest total in the nation and the most in school history by almost 30 yards per game. Leading the offense was junior quarterback Logan Woodside, who leads the nation with 43 touchdown passes and destroyed most of Toledo’s single-season passing records. Woodside completed 69.1 percent of his passes for a school-record 3,882 yards. His 43 TD passes shattered the UT record of 29 set by all-time Rocket great Bruce Gradkowski in 2003 and 2005. Woodside earned first-team All-MAC honors and was named a contender for the Heisman Trophy by the Heisman Trophy Trust.



The Rockets had three wide receivers who caught at least 38 passes this season, and two who caught 10 touchdown passes. Junior Cody Thompson had 59 receptions for 1,170 yards and 10 TDs, senior Corey Jones had a team high 60 grabs, 745 yards and five scores, and sophomore Jon’Vea Johnson added 38 catches, 751 yards and 10 TDs. Thompson earned first-team All-MAC honors; Johnson made second-team. Thompson and Jones were both on the Biletnikoff Watch List, an award given annually to the nation’s best wide receiver.

Toledo will play Appalachian State Saturday, Dec. 17, in the Raycom Media Camellia Bowl in Montgomery, Ala. The 5:30 p.m. game will be carried by ESPN.

Click to access the login or register cheese