Nursing program receives awards at state convention

December 22, 2010 | News, UToday
By Staff

The University of Toledo College of Nursing received a number of top honors at the 2010 Ohio Nursing Students’ Association annual convention.

The UT Student Nurses Association chapter was recognized with the Best Local Board of Directors Award.

Individual honors went to UT student Michael Barth, who was selected for the Nursing Student of the Year Award, and Assistant Professor of Nursing Karen Tormoehlen, who received the Faculty Adviser of the Year Award.

The UT student chapter was recognized with the Best Fundraising Project for the innovative Heart to Heart Program in which nursing alumni purchased new stethoscopes for incoming nursing students to pass on their passion for nursing to the next generation.

The student chapter of the Student Nurses Association is active in the community harvesting a garden and donating the food to the Cherry Street Mission, sponsoring special needs children through a variety of programs, providing military support through Heroes in Action, and other projects.

Three UT students also were elected to state offices with the Ohio Nursing Students’ Association:

• Breanne’ Prebe will serve as vice president. It is the third consecutive year a UT student has held that position.

• Erica Hughes was named secretary, which is the second year a UT student has held the post.

• Samantha Stevens will serve as the convention planner.

The Ohio Nursing Students’ Association is the state board for the National Student Nurses Association. The mission of the Student Nurses Association is to mentor the professional development of future registered nurses.

Click to access the login or register cheese