University to inaugurate 17th president

September 22, 2015 | Events, News, UToday
By Staff

The University of Toledo will mark the historic inauguration of its 17th President Sharon L. Gaber Friday, Sept. 25.

The inauguration ceremony at 3 p.m. in Savage Arena will celebrate the University in the theme of “Tradition, Collaboration and Transformation.”



A processional will begin at 2:30 p.m. from the Student Union — or the Fetterman Training Center if it rains — to Savage Arena for the ceremony, which will be followed by a reception. The event is free and open to the public.

Gaber began her tenure as UT’s 17th president July 1. A city and regional planning expert, she came to the UT presidency following six years as provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University of Arkansas.

Earlier Friday morning, Gaber will serve as a panelist during an academic symposium at 10 a.m. in Doermann Theater.

Titled “Creating a Social Compact Between the City of Toledo and The University of Toledo: From Knowledge to Action,” other panel participants will be Dr. Michael Dear, professor emeritus of city and regional planning at the University of California at Berkeley; Dr. Kenneth Reardon, professor and director of the graduate program in urban planning and community development at the University of Massachusetts in Boston; Dr. Neil Reid, director of the UT Jack Ford Urban Affairs Center and professor of geography and planning; and Calvin Lawshe, director of economic and business development for the city of Toledo.

Dr. Patrick Lawrence, professor and chair of the UT Department of Geography and Planning, will be the moderator.

For more information, visit

Click to access the login or register cheese