Gold, Blue T, Young Alum awards to be presented at Homecoming event

October 2, 2013 | Events, News, UToday, Alumni
By Staff



The University of Toledo Alumni Association will honor the winners of its most prestigious recognition: the Gold T, Blue T and Edward H. Schmidt Outstanding Young Alum Award.

These three recipients will be recognized — along with distinguished alumni from each UT college — at the Homecoming Alumni Gala and Awards Ceremony Friday, Oct. 4, at 6 p.m. in the Student Union Auditorium.

Tickets for the gala are $30 each and may be purchased by calling the Office of Alumni Relations at 419.530.ALUM (2586) or by visiting

The Gold T is presented to a UT graduate in recognition of outstanding achievement in his or her field of endeavor while providing leadership and noteworthy service to the community.

The 2013 recipient is Dr. Clinton O. Longenecker of Toledo. He received bachelor and master of business administration degrees from UT in 1977 and 1978, respectively. Longenecker is the Stranahan Professor of Leadership and Organizational Excellence in the UT College of Business and Innovation.



Longenecker was selected last year as one of the top 15 business educators in the world by The Economist magazine. He has been the recipient of more than 20 outstanding teaching awards and has published more than 150 articles and papers in leading academic and professional journals. His research has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Investor’s Business Daily and on MSNBC and NPR. His best-selling book, Getting Results: Five Absolutes for High Performance, describes the best practices of more than 2,000 high-performance managers and how they achieve outstanding success; it has been translated into nine languages. An active management consultant, his clients include a variety of Fortune 500 firms and entrepreneurial organizations: Harley-Davidson, Owens-Illinois Inc., Cooper Tire, Marathon Oil Co., ConAgra Foods Inc., SSOE Inc., ProMedica Health System and Eaton Corp., among others.

He has spent extensive time working in Haiti as a missionary building schools, hospitals and homes.

The Blue T is presented to a UT Alumni Association member and University graduate who has made outstanding contributions to the progress and development of the Alumni Association and his or her alma mater.



The 2013 recipient is Donald Warner of Maumee. He received a bachelor of science degree in electrical engineering in 1976. Warner retired in 2009 as vice president/principal owner and director of quality and training for the SSOE Group. He served as president of the UT Alumni Association during the 2011-12 school year and provided the concept and creative vision for what would become the William and Carol Koester Alumni Pavilion on Main Campus.

Warner is a member of the College of Medicine and Life Sciences Advisory Council and the UT Foundation Development Committee. He and his wife, Connie, were married in the Student Union in 1994 and recently created a bequest of more than $1 million designed to benefit three areas: academics, through scholarships and a lecture series in the College of Engineering; athletics; and the UT Alumni Association.

The Edward H. Schmidt Outstanding Young Alum Award is presented to a University graduate who is 35 years or younger in recognition of outstanding achievement in her or his field of endeavor, while providing leadership and noteworthy service to the Alumni Association, University or community. This award is named in memory of the 1942 alumnus and a longtime supporter of the University and its Alumni Association.

The 2013 recipient is Heidi Burkhart of New York, N.Y. She received a bachelor’s degree in business administration in 2002. Burkhart is chair and founder of Dane Professional Consulting Group, which specializes in affordable housing, brokerage and consulting. She has facilitated the closing in excess of $500 million of affordable housing in the past four years. In November in Chicago, she will be recognized by Affordable Housing Finance with its Young Leader Award, which honors men and women under the age of 40 who are building organizations and ushering in new ways of delivering affordable housing.

Click to access the login or register cheese